

Address by the Guest of Honour Dr. R.Chidambaram, DAE-Homi Bhabha Professor, BARC

About the Speaker:

- Dr. Rajagopala Chidambaram became the Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre(BARC) in 1990. He was Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission from 1993 to 2000. He was the Principal Scientific Adviser to the Govt. of India and the Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet from 2001 to 2018. He is presently the DAE-Homi Bhabha Professor in BARC. He has D.Sc Degrees (h.c) from thirty Universities from India and abroad. He has more than 200 research publications in refereed journals and all his research work has been in India. He was Chairman of the Board of Governors of the IAEA during 1994-95. During 1990-99, he was a member of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography, the last three years as its Vice-President. He has been Chairman, Board of Governors of IIT Bombay(1994-97) and of IIT Madras (2008-2011) and Member, Space Commission(2009-2014). Dr. Chidambaram is currently Chairman of the Board of Governors of IIT, Jodhpur.
- Dr. Chidambaram is a Fellow of all the major Science Academies in India and also of the National Academy of Engineering and the World Academy of Sciences Trieste (Italy). He has received many awards and honours, notable among them are the C.V. Raman Birth Centenary Award of the Indian Science Congress Association in 1995, the Distinguished Materials Scientists of the Year Award of the Material Research Society of India (MRSI) in 1996, R.D. Birla Award of the Indian Physics Association in 1996, Homi Bhabha Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Nuclear Society(2006), The Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (2009) and the C.V. Raman Medal of the Indian National Science Academy (2013). Lifetime Achievement Award of A.P. Academy of Sciences (2014), Lifetime Achievement Award of the Council of Power Utilites (2014). Dr. Chidambaram was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award in India, in 1999.
- His initiatives as Principal Scientific Adviser to Government of India, include the setting up of the Core Advisory
 Groups for R&D in various technology sectors, the creation of RuTAG (Rural Technology Action Group) centered
 in 7 IITs, the establishment of SETS (Society for Electronic Transactions and Security), helping nucleate the Centres
 of Excellence in Nanoelectronics, the National Knowledge Network and initiating an R&D programme on the
 design of the Advanced Ultra Supercritical Thermal Plant, through a consortium of IGCAR, BHEL and NTPC.

