

## Project: Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO)





## About the Panel Member:

 Rajesh Gopakumar is a theoretical physicist and the director of the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS-TIFR) in Bangalore. He did his undergraduate degree from IIT-Kanpur and PhD at Princeton University. After being a research associate at Harvard University he moved to Harish-Chandra Research Institute in 2001 to take up a faulty position. He is the recipient of the ICTP Prize (2006), the S.S. Bhatnagar Award (2009), the Swarnajayanthi Fellowship (2006), the J. C. Bose Fellowship (2015), the G. D. Birla Prize (2013) and the TWAS Prize in the Physical Sciences (2013). He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, the Indian National Science Academy and the National Academy of Sciences, India. He was elected fellow of the The World Academy of Sciences in 2015. He is a founding member of the Global Young Academy.

