Parent category

India+ lectures on Heavy Ion Collision experiments

Managers

  • Gupta, S.
  • Sharma, R.
This seminar series is aimed at students interested in the phenomenology of heavy ion collisions, as well as heavy ion scientists at all levels.

For each topic we plan to have a speaker from each of the collaborations at LHC and RHIC. We would like to cover the similarities and differences between the detectors in terms of hardware and therefore in experimental analysis and physics results.

The talks will be of 60 minutes duration followed by 30-45 minutes of discussions. The talks will be held on the Zoom platform and will be recorded and uploaded later on the web. Future talks will generally be held on Thursdays starting at 6:30 PM India time [10:00 PM Tokyo, 9:00 PM Beijing, 3:00PM (Israel),2:00 PM Geneva (GMT+1), 8:00 AM New York (EST), 5:00 AM Seattle (PST)] The first talk in the series was on October 13, 2022.

In the first part of the series (till spring 2023) we plan to cover the following topics.
(1) Particle ID

  1. October 13, 2022. (Speaker: Chitrasen Jena) Particle Identification at STAR
  2. October 20, 2022. (Speaker: Wei Li) Particle Identification at CMS
  3. October 27, 2022. (Speaker: Yanxi Zhang) Particle Identification at LHCb
  4. November 03, 2022. (Panel Members: Roli Esha, Chitrasen Jena, Wei Li, Yanxi Zhang) (Moderator: Subhasish Chattopadhyay) Discussion session on Particle ID

(2) Global Analysis
  1. November 10, 2022. (Speaker: Grigory Nigmatkulov) Measuring Global Observables in the STAR Experiment
  2. November 24, 2022. (Speaker: Sushanta Tripathy) Measurement of global observables with ALICE at the LHC
  3. December 08, 2022. (Speaker: Gabor Veres) Global Analysis at CMS
  4. December 19, 2022. (Speaker: Alexander Milov) Global Analysis at ATLAS
  5. December 22, 2022. (Speaker: Oscar Boente) Global Analysis at LHCb

(3) Flow and its fluctuations
  1. January 12, 2023. (Speaker: Sergei Voloshin) Flow, nonflow, and flow fluctuations
  2. February 16, 2023. (Speaker: Jiangyong Jia) Flow and its fluctuations at ATLAS
  3. February 23, 2023. (Speaker: Shengquan Tuo) Flow and its fluctuations at CMS
(4) Fluctuations of conserved quantities
(5) Quarkonia
(6) Open heavy flavor

Please contact [rishi at theory dot tifr dot res dot in] or [sandeep at iiserbpr dot ac dot in] for zoom details.
Organizers:
  • Sandeep Chatterjee (IISER, Berhampur India)
  • Sourendu Gupta (TIFR, Mumbai India)
  • Rishi Sharma (TIFR, Mumbai India)
  • Subhash Singha (IMP-CAS, Lanzhou China)
Advisory Committee:
  • Bedanga Mohanty
  • Sergei Voloshin
  • Fuqiang Wang
  • Peter Steinberg
  • Jamie Nagle
  • Subhasis Chattopadhyay
  • Patrick Robbe